jump to navigation

Jack Johnson – Mudfootball (Live) September 18, 2008

Posted by Rish in acoustic, live, soft rock.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

I recently got my hands on some pre-“In Between Dreams” releases from Jack Johnson as I heard the track “Posters” being played on the rather awesome Radio Paradise which I recommend if you fancy some alternative laid-back tunes. The album “In Between Dreams” along with Frank Turner’s first LP “Sleep is For the Week” were the soundtracks that featured heavily on my hungover mornings at uni which I played in constant rotation annoying anyone within the immediate, and non-immediate, vicinity of my room with my incessant… well I was going to call it singing but it sounded more like a drunken lout shouting at the top of his voice in an effort to drown out the pain of a throbbing headache. One track that was missing from my version of “In Between Dreams” that featured as a bonus track on the UK release is this: a live recording of “Mudfootball”, who’s original (as well as “Posters”) featured on his previous album “Brushfire Fairytales”. I came across it in the most random of places – whilst on hold to the company Bizzenergy when having to call them at work. Now being on hold is always frustrating, made even more so by the sorry excuse for music they choose to play to you while you wait, but hats off to Bizzenergy for playing music that I actually wanted to stay on the phone to listen to and for allowing me to discover the missing gem from my version of “In Between Dreams”. It took me a while to track it down but I’ve managed to get my hands on it to share to you, my luscious readers. It’s an upbeat, fun sounding live recording featuring a bouncing harmonica, a great sounding live guitar that hits around the minute-and-a-half mark, and a sense of spontaneous and effortless riffing that’s played at ease – something you can only capture in live sessions.

Jack Johnson – Mudfootball (Live)
[ Mirrors | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 ]

[ From the Album “In Between Dreams” (UK Bonus Track) |
Buy CD: ]

Comments»

1. Norwegian Recycling - No Taylor, No Scar « Audio-Therapy.com - February 2, 2009

[…] found that this one track featured three artists I’ve already done posts about on this blog (Jack Johnson, Missy Higgins and Wyclef Jean of the Fugees) mashed up into a single, surprisingly cohesive song. […]


Leave a comment